Orlando Villas · Florida Dream Villa
Orlando Park Tickets · Florida Car Hire · US Domestic Car Rental · Florida Car Rental · Enhanced Roadside Assistance
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Using USA sim card in uk mobile phone

Florida Newbie

Using USA sim card in uk mobile phone

Hi I have a iPhone 4 mobile phone on t mobile contract

Can I use a USA t mobile sim card in my uk phone while I'm in USA also have iPad. 3 g could I use a USA sim in that to.

Gold 5 Star Member
    It's a very complex issue and I'm no expert but the general position is that you can't just swap sim cards especially if your phone is locked to a UK network. I get a sim from AT&T when I'm in the US but I bought my iPhone direct from Apple.

I'm sure others who are wiser on this subject will be able to advise you better.

I think T-Mobile would be the best place to get that advice. I wish you luck with that call !

Interesting, KG, that your iphone will work with SIMs from different operators. Earlier this year I bought an iPhone 4 from an Apple shop for my daughter, and they warned me that whilst it was an unlocked phone, it would lock itself to the network of the first SIM inserted. In our case we had an O2 SIM, I've not tested their theory by trying any other though.
    Dave.

Gold 5 Star Member
    Hi Dave

I've used the system many times with different AT&T sims in the US without any problems and I have an O2 sim here. I get their 'Go Phone' $15 prepaid card which usually lasts me for a couple of weeks but it's very easily topped up if necessary.

The main drawback is that I can't get data but there's so much wi-fi around, it's not a major problem. I've seen YouTube videos about bypassing the system to get data but I've never tried them.
    Last edited by Katys Grandad; 22-06-2012 at 07:51.

Gold 5 Star Member
    Quote Originally Posted by Dads_Taxi View Post
    I think T-Mobile would be the best place to get that advice. I wish you luck with that call !