PDA

View Full Version : Seaworld - cruel or not?

Cruella DeVilla
31-05-2004, 18:36
Just wondered what others thought about the shows there? We watched amongst others the Shamua show where they have the whales, dolphins etc performing. Hubby was not happy about it which got me a thinking to. I know they treat them nice but is it a wee bit cruel on the performers and I do not mean the humans! Just think about Free Willy.
CDV[:0]

Ruth
31-05-2004, 21:34
I have very mixed feelings about it and have to say that I nprefer to see then in their natural environment. I believe they are well looked after but cannot be happy in a tank when compared with the ocean. However I have done Discovery Cove twice and have been to Seaworld a few times. When I was a student I worked with the dophins and killer whale (Winnie who is now at Seaworld Orlando) and loved doing so.

andrewmckay5
31-05-2004, 21:36
Ruth,
if let back into the"wild" could they survive?
andrew

Ruth
31-05-2004, 22:20
I don't think their chances are good. Most are now captive bread and may have lost some of their natural instincts. They are also very used to humans and may not want to go out to sea and join a pod. The whale from "Free Willy" died once he was released sadly.

steph_goodrum
31-05-2004, 23:00
Ruth
At least Keiko had at least 18 months or so in a more natural environment. but he was kept in exceptionally bad conditions where he was found.