PDA

View Full Version : Hello all

Will
16-03-2004, 14:49
Hi everyone. I'm a newbie here; one reason I come here is that I'm looking into the possibility of going out to live in Florida. Sounds very exciting from some postings I see here. I would like to know more about a community called 'The Villages', could someone be so kind to tell me if this is the right forum to visit? Thanks a lot.

Regards,

Will :)

Carla
16-03-2004, 14:53
The Villages is not in the Central Florida area. From what I remember it is further north in Florida.

Will
16-03-2004, 15:04
Thanks Carla, so there won't be discussion of The Villages here, is it right? [msnembarrased] The Villages is the one I heard about, could someone recommend similar community around, thank you very much.

Regards,

Will

Beverley
16-03-2004, 15:17
Hi Will,
Welcome to the forum.

My in-laws have owned a home at The Villages for the last 5 years. They are keen golfers & they love it. They usually go from November until April.
You may already know that there is a website for The Villages, if not its..

www.thevillages.com

:)

blott
16-03-2004, 16:26
Hi Will

Welcome!

The Villages is a retirement community and you have to be over 50 or 55 to purchase a home there (just in case you didn't know that). It's a lovely place and there are loads of activities going on all the time.

Will
16-03-2004, 17:15
Thanks Blott & Beverly for your pointers. I do know the Villages is intended for the over 50 and up; I’d qualify soon[msncry]. As I’m rather ignorant about Florida property, I’d like to hear the wisdom of others on the forum.

While on the topic, are there similar communities in Florida (not necessarily for soon-to-retire)? Top on my dream list are safety and a friendly environment. I don’t fancy to be Clint Eastwood with his big gun.:)

Best regards,

Will

blott
16-03-2004, 18:11
I've just had a thought... I assume you're entitled to live in Florida (or USA) and have the necessary paperwork?