PDA

View Full Version : Totally Lost

TeddyB
23-02-2004, 18:51
Help!!!
I am totally new to Florida and i am planning to take my family in 2005 except im not too sure when is the best time to travel and the best areas to rent a villa. I have a niece of 12 who will be going but we are trying to fit the holiday around her uk schooling so that we only need to take her out of school for one week. We are also trying to avoid like everyone else the hot summer and busy periods at the parks. please can anyone help? thankyou

Nostromo
23-02-2004, 18:56
The best times are a) Between 20th April and 15th May assuming that Easter is at least a week gone on April 20th; and b) All of October. You get the best combination of good weather, very little rain and moderate crowds. I am more or less in the same position as you, because even though we have been to orlando 4 times before, this spring will be our first attempt at villa renting. We've rented one at Orange Tree, but most villas in that US192 / 27 corridor seem to be good. There are plenty of British owners on this site and I am sure they'll help you. They certainly helped me and I was REALLY spoilt for choice.

chrisj
23-02-2004, 19:12
Have you checked the school, All the ones round here now refuse to let you take your
kids out of school. There's also some government thing about parents being fined if they
take their kids out of school for a holiday

pbensur
23-02-2004, 19:22
Welcome to the forum TeddyB! I agree that October is a great time to go and also April/May avoiding the Easter traffic. Best of luck with your planning - there is lots of help to be found on this forum. If you don't find answers, then ask away!

huckleberry house
23-02-2004, 19:43
Hello Teddyb

Assuming the school allow it and permission is sought and granted there shouldnt be a problem,as far as I am aware the fine will only apply to parents who persistently remove their children from school without first seeking permission.