PDA

View Full Version : single mum ANY Chance?

Lamped
05-02-2004, 21:02
Hi I am a 42year old single mum and would truly love to move to the States. I would be able to purchase property outright and have savings. I also receive a pension so have monthly income as i am a retired Police Officer. I would really like to work but think i would be able to get by on pension and savings if this was not permitted. I have one son who is 4 years old and I would like him to attend a state school. Is there any chance of me being able to carry out my dream? Any advice or help gratefully received.

Lesley

Amirah
05-02-2004, 21:26
Hi Lesley,

I think you can do it. Just research your project to the best of your ability (this means talking to people in your country, over here in the USA, books, read about the economy, the government, etc.). When we first came over here permanently we didn't have a child so it made it that much easier for us. We didn't have much of a savings or "real" jobs come to think of it and we lived in a small apartment...it was a long time ago and since then we have excelled greatly. It's not easy to make it here...or anywhere for that matter. If it is your dream, make it come true.

As for schools, my daughter (8 y/o) goes to a private school, not a state public school because the education isn't as good. So we spend a great deal of money on her uniforms and her tuition.

And WELCOME to the forum!

chrizzy100
05-02-2004, 22:14
quote:Originally posted by Amirah

Hi Lesley,