PDA

View Full Version : visa general questions

jasonp
31-01-2008, 16:16
Hi
I'm new to all of this so apologies if i look stupid. I am going to Orlando in June with my wife and 3 children aged 8,6 and 5. Where do i start with visa requirements etc as i have no clue.
thanks

ccarcher
31-01-2008, 16:42
as long as you have no convictions and or arrests (excluding motoring speed offences) then you just complete the green VWP (Visa Waiver Program) form on the plane

on the other hand if you have an arrest / conviction then its a whole different board game, see the numerous threads on the subject here as to whether you then need to obtain a visa or not

steph_goodrum
31-01-2008, 17:12
<blockquote id="quote" class="ffs">quote:Originally posted by ccarcher
as long as you have no convictions and or arrests (excluding motoring speed offences) then you just complete the green VWP (Visa Waiver Program) form on the plane

on the other hand if you have an arrest / conviction then its a whole different board game, see the numerous threads on the subject here as to whether you then need to obtain a visa or not
[/quote]
This is one of the criteria but not the only one, also included is if you have ever suffered from mental health issues/illness, certain disesaes etc. so you need to check out the whole criteria to check you and all the familly are eligible to travel under the visa waiver.

http://london.usembassy.gov/cons_new/visa/niv/vwp.html

should be able to help you determine if you are eligible for vias waiver progarm and therefore dont need to apply for VIsa.

they've introduced a Wizard to help determine if a visa is needed or not which reminded me that if your passport was issued after Oct 2006 then it must have an e-chip to allow you to travel. I think most of them were being done automatically by then but it may have been at the stage that it was still random which you were sent.

Robert5988
31-01-2008, 19:02