PDA

View Full Version : The Courtyard at Lake Lucerne

Albert the Frog
22-01-2008, 02:27
We are thinking of staying in this hotel in downtown Orlando for a change. Does anybody have any knowledge of either the hotel or what the area is like as a base please????

florida4sun
22-01-2008, 03:12
I know the hotel and it is quite nice for couple of days but not somewhere I would stay for any longer. Same with the area (although in fairness I have not being there for some years now).
As this is a site for promoting villas so not the best site for a hotel review[msnwink]

<blockquote id="quote" class="ffs">quote:Originally posted by Albert the Frog
We are thinking of staying in this hotel in downtown Orlando for a change. Does anybody have any knowledge of either the hotel or what the area is like as a base please????
[/quote]

ellie
22-01-2008, 18:04
I have no experience of this particular hotel, but we recently visited downtown Orlando and found it to be a bit strange, and not at all what we expected. It is full of high rise office blocks and very little else, and when we visited at the weekend appeared to be pretty dead as obviously the offices were closed. Traffic can be very heavy and there is a one-way traffic system.

There is, apparently, lots of night life and there did seem to be quite a few nightclubs around, as well as restaurants. We were surprised to find no real 'heart' to this area and certainly we never found any shops, which with teenagers was a bit of a disappointment.

There was a very interesting museum, called the Orange County Regional History Center, and a short distance away was a small park. To the eastern side there is Lake Eola Park, which has a lake where you can rent swan boats. There is also a large amphitheater which hosts many events.