PDA

View Full Version : Boat wanted

nicseg
10-05-2007, 13:47
Hi
We are looking for a small cabin cruiser to go on the Thames. We will be first time owners and are looking to start in a small way with a limited budget; after all we may not like it so initial outlay is important. If some TLC is needed that’s ok as long as it something a complete novice like me can tackle. We have secured moorings on the Thames in Reading. We will also need a small boat that can take an outboard as our mooring does not have access via road or footpath so we need to cross the river to get to it.
Thanks
Nic

blott
10-05-2007, 16:13
Having owned such a thing on the Thames, if I were you I'd rent a boat for a week to see if it's your sort of thing.

Unless you're going into the mega luxury bracket, you'll have limited space so you need to be able to get on together really well and, if you're intending to sleep on it, be quite friendly and not crave a lot of privacy!

Look into how much you might be irritated at having to load up, get onto another boat to reach the other one and unload the other side - if it's pouring with rain, will it really still look that much of a good idea?

Where can you moor the second boat and how much would you have to pay to do this?

Boat insurance is quite expensive so make sure that you look into that and, safety first, anyone who's not a competent swimmer needs a life vest. You also have to pay for most overnight moorings and you need an annual licence for both the boats, which depends on the size. http://www.environment-agency.gov.uk/subjects/navigation/499814/499910/?version=1&lang=_e Always get a second hand boat surveyed by a competent boat surveyor before purchase.

You need to be pretty agile at jumping on and off, rubber gloves for slimy lock chains, proper boat shoes, know how and where to properly moor up, etc, etc.