PDA

View Full Version : Looking to move permenantly

BMG
27-08-2003, 19:38
Hi there, my wife and I are new to this and hardly know anything about what is involved moving to the US. I am an IT professional with 5 years experience in application and web development and my wife is an administrator in digital media services. We want to move to the US and carry on in our chosen professions but from what I have read on this forum we would need to invest $100K into a business, open a new business or be sponsored by a UK business. We fall into none of these categories as far as I know. The closest could possibly be that I work for the Acxiom corporation that has offices all over the US and also all over the world. Does anyone know what our best route into the US would be? We are still reletivley young at 28 and 24 and feel now is the right time to make a fresh start in the sunshine but we did not comprehend such difficuties obtaining a visa. If anyone has any advice at all that they might offer please advise us.

Many thanks in advance to those who reply.

Chris7
27-08-2003, 19:56
If the company you work for has offices in the US, the first thing to find out is if your employers would be prepared to move you to the US on a fixed term contract (I believe it is much easier once you have been in country for a while to apply for leave to remain).

I only have experience of it in reverse (we took someone from the US who now has British Residency), but we did have to justify why a UK person couldn't do that job. I guess it would be the same for your employers, and there are likely to be a fist full of IT people in the US

chrizzy100
27-08-2003, 22:25
quote:Originally posted by BMG