PDA

View Full Version : Boy do I have an odd question!?

newby
04-08-2006, 17:15
Asking out of pure curiousity, why is it seemingly all of the villas on orlandovillas.com are owned/operated from the UK? All the links and emails I have recieved have come from the UK almost entirely. This is my first time renting a villa and it just piqued my interest...

qunlu
04-08-2006, 17:28
That not true. We are from USA. There are lots of US owner here too.

newby
04-08-2006, 17:43
True, I shouldn't have used the word "all" in my question...I'm sure there are lots of local owners. Believe me, I'm not decrying anyone for owning these from out of the country. It just caught my eye that so many had UK websites and emails. I assume these villas are simply investment property for them. No worries, man.

Clare R
04-08-2006, 17:47
No, not necessarily 'just' an investment. We treat our villa as our home and rent it out when we are not there to cover costs. Please don't imply that owners, who are largely British I agree, are just there for the investment potential, we pay our taxes in US as well.

Clare
http://www.orlandovillas.com/villas/1367.aspx

floridadreamvilla.co.uk
04-08-2006, 17:51
We've got quite a lot of US owners but probably 80-90% of owners are UK based (we do have owners from lots of other countries too).

The UK has a long standing love affair with Florida and the value villas provide over hotel rooms is well known amongst the UK tourists, hence quite a few of these tourists have bought homes here as the come several times a year and wanted somewhere of their own to stay.

The concept of villas is still not as widely known amongst the US vacationers and so less US people own homes here. This is slowly changing but it takes time.

I'm finding about 70% of my guests are from the USA and I would have more but the houses book up really well in advance.