PDA

View Full Version : Carp fishing

gazmc
12-03-2006, 02:30
Hello all, i am hopefully coming to florida in september again.
I know that in america carp are really treat as vermin fish but does anybody know of any where or anyone who does fishing trips for them in or around orlando.

Thanks for your time ,

Gary

Macka
13-03-2006, 15:03
Gary,

I've been fishing in Florida for twenty years and have never seen or heard of a carp being caught anywhere I've spoken to many local fishermen and I don't remember anyone mentioning carp.

If you find any let me know I'll have a go for them myself.[msnsmile2]

blott
13-03-2006, 16:13
Carp aren't native to Florida but there is one species called the Chinese Grass carp which has been imported to some inland waterways to control vegetation in some areas.

Florida, and especially the Orlando area, is more famous for its big mouth bass and anglers come from all over the USA to fish for these.

Macka
13-03-2006, 16:21
I know Blott and I'm embarrassed to say I've never caught one yet.

(can't be doing with spinning you see)

Caught lots of catfish though.[msnsmile2]

blott
13-03-2006, 16:40
A couple of sets of our guests reported that they've caught a 6lb+ big mouth bass in one of our lakes (as per our OV advert) so perhaps you've not been to the right place Paul? [msnwink]

Macka
13-03-2006, 16:45
<blockquote id="quote" class="ffs">quote:Originally posted by blott
A couple of sets of our guests reported that they've caught a 6lb+ big mouth bass in one of our lakes (as per our OV advert) so perhaps you've not been to the right place Paul? [msnwink]
[/quote]

No Blott I'm sure it's not down to location, I've fished lake Davenport for years, it's a lack of technique and inclination I fear.[msnscared]

gazmc
26-03-2006, 23:55