PDA

View Full Version : some ideas from a seasoned (American) traveller

sjd
29-04-2003, 01:23
Please note, I am not an expert. Just a mom and a avid traveller. I have been to Disney 7 times and on the Disney Cruise, as well.
My flights, of course are not as long as yours. But some of my lay-overs have been long.
Here in the U.S. we have 'Dollar Stores'. They sell cheap toys. A nice idea is to buy a handful of this stuff and dole it out every one or two hours to the kids. They are getting a new toy and don't seem to mind that is is 'junk' and you don't mind if they lose it. And you don't go broke.
Get your child their own seat on the plane. Babies too. Take the car seat (if FAA approved). It sends the child the message that 'we are in a vehicle' and that they need to stay seated. If you are flying coach, they won't fit rear-facing, but you can install forward. (face it - if you crash, it won't matter what way it was in!)

Rent a car at least the same size as the one at home. Saving a little money to get a smaller car, isn't worth cramming in hot, tired, 'he's touching me' tots.

Do you have Wal-Marts in the U.K.? Great place for stuff you forgot. And wait until you get their to buy most of the diapers. Our generic, store brands work every bit as well as the brand names.
For little ones, bring your own formula. Our requirements are different than yours. Our baby food is probably the same. How different can 'mashed carrots and water' be. We wait until we are at our destination to buy that stuff.

Take your own water into the parks. Refill the bottle. They sell neat straps to 'wear' the water. Disney and Universal have drinking fountains EVERYWHERE. And the ones at Disney are surprising cool. Pop (soft-drinks, soda) is VERY expensive in all the parks.

Consider driving West to Tampa Bay/Clearwater area. The beaches are fabulous and Busch Gardens, Tampa is as beautiful a park as Walt Disney World and is a cross between Animal Kingdom and Epcot.