PDA

View Full Version : Moving Stateside

Biggus
11-04-2003, 19:53
Hi all,
Bit of a strange one this (Not directly Orlando related) - my wife has just phoned to say that her job may well take her to work in Denver (I would prefer sun not snow!!) for a period of at least 12 months. Where do I stand on the visa front - hers will obviously be sponsored by her work but even as a graduate I don't know if I will be able to work. Can someone (I know Julie Carty (Esprit) and Martin from C2C are pretty hot on the subject) give me some advice, as I have seen some of the info on here re: visas but I would much rather work than become a house husband (we don't have any kids) and I have a tendency to become a little bored after a while doing not a lot. We love the States and would jump at the chance (it would be a good career move for my wife) I could get quite excited if this is very likely to come off. She is going back to the US in a month for a couple of weeks.
Your thoughts and help would be appreciated.
Cheers,

esprit
11-04-2003, 20:35
Would it be her existing employer who would be sending her over to work in the US Biggus. If so, she would get a L1 inter company trsnafer visa and you would get an L2. search the net and half the sites will tell you that L2 visa holders cannot work. They can!! It is recent legislation and half the websites have not been chamged to reflect it. The L2 holder has to apply for dispensation to work and off you go and find a job. However, your visa would be totally dependant on your wifes ( if you see what I mean) The advantage of L1 is it converts pretty quickly to green card ( possible after one year, common after three) and if she then gets a green card, she can sponsor you.
If she would be getting a total new job sponsorred by a US employer, that is an H1B and come back to me.

neilandkay
13-04-2003, 01:52