PDA

View Full Version : Camera Question

NickClark
26-02-2005, 20:27
I am sure there are lots of photography experts on this site and I would like your advice. I want to buy a good quality digital camera with wide angle lense, very wide angle. I need to take internal photographs of my villa and using a standard camera can not get the whole room into the picture. I hope this makes sense.

I went to local camera shop today and purchased an Olympus C-8080 wide zoom which they said is the widest angle digital camera available, 28mm whatever that means. The thing is I know nothing about cameras at all and upon trying it the result is still not good enough.

I used to have a cannon EOS500 and am sure that it used to produce the desired effect.

Is the problem that I want digital which I assume you can't change the lens on.

Any advice much apreciated.

Nick

rosie
26-02-2005, 20:34
Nick, I'm no expert but couldn't you use a camera mounted on a tripod, take several pics all round the room and then stitch them together? There are quite a few different stitching software packages available.....

Failing that then I'm sure snapper, brizzle or Nostromo will be able to help with the techy questions [msnsmile]

E. Cosgrove
26-02-2005, 20:43
Nick, are you going to get a 360 tour of your home done? I believe the stills that come with the tour are excellent. We are hoping to get one done when we are out at Easter.

Nostromo
26-02-2005, 20:54
The real photo experts are Snapper, Brizzle and Orlando Magic, but I know a bit about it too, in my own humble way. 28mm is what's known as a "standard wide" lens that gives you a reasonable panoramic view without too much distortion and so should suit your purposes.