PDA

View Full Version : Orlando via Atlanta

Susan
25-02-2005, 21:09
I've booked a flight with Delta to Orlando via Atlanta and the time between connecting flights is only 1hr 45mins. Is this enough time to collect baggage, go through customs and check-in again? It seems a bit tight to me!! I've never done an indirect flight before or flown with Delta so any information would be great.

Nostromo
25-02-2005, 21:13
You might get away with it, but it always worries me with anything less than 2 hours and 30 mins. Atlanta is a fairly busy and confusing airport, you might find yourself pushed for time. With all the new formalities, one cannot take the chance. IMHO, you should try for a later flight out of Atlanta to Orlando; if not, explain your predicament to the stewardess on board the first flight and try to be one of the first to get off the plane so that you can run to the head of the immigration queue.

Also, even a 15 minute delay in the first flight will take a sizeable chunk out of your time.

Ray&Sarah
25-02-2005, 21:44
Ray flies into the US quite regularly and then catches another plane for somewhere else, he has managed to do this in an hour because his first flight was late but wouldn't recommend it. Ideally he likes to have a 2 hour gap to prevent having to make a run for it. He says Atlanta is a big airport and you have to catch a train between the terminals so you might be pushing it to get through immigration and to the next gate.[msnsmile2]

ORLANDO_MAGIC
25-02-2005, 21:46
As Nostromo says,it will be tight and would be better if you had at least 2.5 hours in-between flights,but if your stuck with this one then at least be sure your at the front of the plane so you can get to immigration near the front of the line,cause if your behind 300 plus people you have no chance of making the connection.

John.

Jill
25-02-2005, 22:35