PDA

View Full Version : E-2 or L-1?

sdestinyp
06-08-2004, 21:09
First of all, some background. I am a qualified UK accountant, 51 years old and have owned my own accountancy and tax practice for the past 28 years. This is a sole proprietorship, I work from home and I have no staff.

To get into Florida I have been considering the E-2 visa route and have been looking to buy a business, not necessarily anything to do with accountancy, using the criteria of a minimum of $100k for the purchase, $60k annual profit and a further $60k capital behind me for the first year.

The trouble has been finding a business that I would enjoy running and which would also allow me the luxury of no longer having to spend every hour that G-d sends sitting behind a desk punching numbers or serving behind a counter all day. I did approach a realtor/business broker in Kissimmee (Susan Barnes) a few months ago and she told me that the above criteria were not that important and I did not have to be overly active in my business, just manage it. She had obtained E-2 visas for such clients in the past.

Then I read that the L-1 route was a quicker and more efficient way to obtain that elusive Green Card. All I would have to do was buy a new company in Florida and a business, transfer myself over there and away I go.

But then I read a number of postings on this forum and now .....
I am more confused than I ever was before. And that is without considering all the doom and gloom expounded here.

Just to place the final piece into the jigsaw, I, a widower, would be the only person relocating, my grown up children would remain here.

If some kindly souls would be prepared to share their thoughts I would be really very grateful. Thank you in advance.

agod
06-08-2004, 23:26
Hi Simon